Living Room Reveal

I cannot express how happy I am that this space is done and how much I love it. If you remember from here my goal was a classy, yet functional space that combined modern and vintage/rustic elements. I think we did a great job of bringing the different elements together and creating a space that really fits our family.

Untitled_Panorama2

And the details:

Floors: We went with a hickory looking laminate flooring. We got it at Sam’s club and got a great deal on it. It had the underlayment already attached which saved us a lot of time and money in the end.

Walls: I used Behr premium paint and primer in the shade Elephants Skin. I thought it might be a little dark, but I absolutely love it.  We kept the original crown molding and just painted it with a fresh coat of white paint. We used eggshell paint for everything.

Built in Bookcases: I really wanted built ins and our original plans was to make our own bookcases and do custom built ins. That plan didn’t quite work out and one day my mom and I were at Ikea and I had the revelation that I didn’t have to have the same size bookcases, I could mix and match so we did. All four bookcases and the bench are from the Hemnes furniture line at Ikea. They are finished with a trim on the top and legs so they were a little more on the spendy side, however they fit perfectly in our space. We anchored them to the walls and each piece has about a quarter inch between them.

Curtains: Ikea, I can’t remember the name, but it is a heavier duck cloth canvas type material.

Couch: This is actually our brown microfiber couch we got when we moved into our last place. I loved the idea of navy, but didn’t want to buy a new couch and couldn’t find a slipcover I liked so I made one. The best part is the slipcover is actually three curtains, yep the same ones hanging at the windows. My mom helped me put it together and I finished it off with a hem and some ties for a more finished look.

Chairs: These chairs are probably my favorite piece of furniture in the whole room. I happened upon them on a Facebook yard sale page and had to have them. The fabric is probably two shades lighter than our walls.

Entry table: Taipan Trading. I fell in love with piece and then went back when I had a coupon and decided it was perfect for our entry way. I went back and forth on an entry table because I didn’t want it to take up too much space, but this one fit our theme really well and it pretty thin so I don’t feel like it cuts into the space from the front door to the kitchen.

Clock: My mom and I were shopping at the outlets in St. George and we ran into Tuesday Mornings and I found a red clock that I loved and was going to buy until I saw the London clock. I lived in London for a semester and so I have an attachment to cool pieces connected to London. This clock fit perfectly in my vintage idea.

Photography: All of the photography in our living room are original pieces from my husband’s collection. You can see more of his photography on his website Pushpinpictures.wordpress.com. The green we picked up at an antique store in Pueblo, CO and then we cut the photo into 8 pieces and placed it into the frame pane by pane.

Gray storage boxes: Ikea. I love these boxes from Ikea, they are great storage, but very vintage looking with the cute oval label on the front.

Pillows: The cream pillows are from the target girls bedding section. They are a jersey knit material. The flag pillow is a burlap pillow I picked up at World Market this summer.

Green side table: I picked this table up at a local antique store in Provo.

Other decorations: I have picked up a lot of my little decorations at Taipan Trading. Other things are from JoAnns, Ikea, garage sales, local boutiques, and gifts.

Leave a Reply

