Virgin Strawberry Daquiri Cupcakes

We had a Luau this last week for our grad program and I wanted to come up with a cupcake that had a tropical taste to it. I didn’t really want to do coconut or pineapple because those can be over done and while I like those flavors, not everyone does. I was really stuck for a while and then I decided to look at tropical drinks for inspiration. I decided to go with strawberry daquiri and I am so glad I did. Because I don’t drink and I go to a school where people don’t drink I went with a virgin version. I couldn’t find a recipe that I loved completely, so I combined a few recipes to get my own. I loved how the cupcake and frosting complemented each other and weren’t too overpowering. It was the perfect treat for an end of summer get together!

Strawberry Daquiri cupakes 1

Ingredients

Cupcake

1 box of vanilla cake mix

3 eggs

1/3 cup of oil

1/4 cup Greek yogurt

1 cup of liquid strawberry daiquiri mix ( I used mix of all mixes, non-alcholic)

1/2 Tbsp of imitation rum extract (non-alcoholic)

1/2 Tbsp of lemon juice (you could also use lime juice)

Frosting

8oz cream cheese (room temp)

1 cup of powdered sugar (add more to adjust sweetness)

1tsp vanilla

1 pint of whipping cream

1tbsp of strawberry daiquiri mix

Pineapple juice ( mix in as much as you want for desired flavor)

Strawberry 3

Directions

I use a Kitchenaid for all of my recipes, but this can easily be done without one! To start pour the cake mix into your bowl. I use the whisk attachment and mix the cake mix up for about a minute. Then add in your eggs ( I do one at a time) and whisk until the eggs are all mixed in with the cake mix. Then add in your oil and Greek yogurt. It is going to get a little bit chunky, so make sure you take a spatula and scrape and sides and bottom of the bowl so everything is getting mixed together. One those are all mixed add your strawberry daquiri mix. Whisk together until smooth and then scrape your bowl again to make sure you didn’t miss anything! Once your batter is all mixed up I add some lemon or lime juice to even out the flavor. The strawberry daquiri mix is really sweet, so a little bit of tang will help balance out the taste. Then add your imitation rum. This just boosts the flavor a bit and gives it that tropical drink feel. If you don’t want a virgin cupcake you could add tequila or real rum at this point.

Pour your batter into your pan filling each slot about 3/4 full and then cook for about 17 minutes at 350 Degrees.

Once you’re bowl is clean, or if you have two Kitchen Aid bowls you can start on your frosting. This is a whip cream frosting, so be prepared to chill the frosting before putting it on the cupcakes and if you have a long time before the cupcakes are going to be eaten plan on putting the cupcakes in the fridge after frosting them. If you are serving them right away you should be fine, but it does not set as well as a buttercream frosting just so you know! Use the paddle attachment to beat your cream cheese until it is smooth. Add your cup of powdered sugar and beat until smooth again. Then add in the vanilla and strawberry daquiri mix. If you want to color the frosting add your food coloring in here as well. Once that is all added switch to the whisk attachment and pour in your whipping cream. Whisk until the cream is stiff and peaks. As you go add powdered sugar to adjust the sweetness and pineapple juice for the flavor. I tried not to add too much pineapple juice because I wanted it to be pretty subtle, but you can add as little or as much as you like. It will whip up just like regular whipping cream, so once you get that good stiff peak and you like the flavor you are ready to put it into a piping bag. I would put it in the fridge to cool and set for 30 min to an hour.

Frost your cupcakes and enjoy!

Strawberry 2

Leave a Reply

