Delicious Holiday Sugar Cookies

I don’t know about you guys, but there is something about homemade sugar cookies that screams holiday season to me. I’ve had a hard time finding a recipe I really like the last few years. The last few recipes I’ve tried have either not worked at all or have been so so. I found one on Pinterest the other day that looked promising so my little guy and I decided to try it out and make Halloween Cookies. I made a few tweaks here and there to the recipe, but overall I loved it and will definitely be using it a lot this holiday season!

Halloween Cookies07 Pinterest Photo

Ingredients – Cookies

1 cup of butter, room temperature

1/4 cup of heavy whipping cream

1 1/4 cup of sugar

1 egg

1 tsp of Vanilla extract, you can add other flavors like almond for extra flavor. I added 1/8 tsp of English Toffee extract to mine.

3 cups of flour

1 1/2 tsp of baking powder

1/4 tsp of salt

I like to whip my butter a little bit in my kitchenaid before I add the other ingredients to make sure it is nice and soft. Once your butter is soft add your sugar and mix until fluffy. Mix in your egg and then add your vanilla extract and other flavoring.

In a separate bowl, or in the same bowl if your me and hate getting multiple bowls dirty, mix your baking powder and salt into your flour and then slowly mix your flour into your wet ingredients.

I used to hate cookie recipes that required refridgerating your dough because I just wanted to get the cookies finished, but I now love refridgerating my dough because it gives me the chance to get things cleaned up and then I can clean out my bowl and get the frosting ready. Long story short take your dough out of the bowl, roll it into a ball, wrap it into seran wrap and place it in the fridge for about an hour. While your dough is chilling clean out your bowl and then get a head start on your frosting. This time is especially nice if you are going to do multiple colors of frosting because we all know it can be a process to split the frosting and color it all.

After your dough has chilled pull it out and unwrap it. I like to split my dough into three or four sections that way I’m not trying to roll out a huge chunk at once. If you have wax paper, pull it out! Rolling out your dough on wax paper is great because it saves flour and you never have to worry about your dough sticking to your counter or island. Also line your cookie sheet with parchment paper right now. Parchment paper is the best and if you don’t use it, you should start! It will save you hours at your kitchen sink scraping residue off of your cookie sheets and you don’t have to worry about greasing them, ever!

Roll out your dough, cut out your cookies and cook away! I like my cookies to be a little bit on the thicker side so they are nice and fluffy. Cook your cookies until you start to see a tiny bit of brown on the bottom where they touch the pan. Probably about 10-12 min, I don’t time mine… oops! Once they are done, pull them out of the oven and let them sit for about a minute before transfering them to a cookie rack.

Once your cookies are cooled it’s time for the most delicious frosting ever!

Ingredients – Frosting

1/2 cup of butter, room temperature

4 cups of powdered sugar

1 tsp of vanilla extract

If you want to flavor your frosting start with 1/4 tsp of your flavor and then add it in increments of 1/4 tsp until you have your desired flavor.

Food coloring – if you are doing one color you can add your food coloring in the mixer, but if not wait to add your food coloring until you’ve split your frosting up

Halloween Cookies06(FB)

Mix everything together and you’re set to go. I love this frosting because it is sweet, but not too sweet and it holds it shape really well so you can stack the cookies. Also it still tastes good the next day!

I promise you will not regret making these delicious cookies, I mean your waistline might, but they are so worth it! They are also a great treat to make with your little one this holiday season! 

Leave a Reply

