Sweet Potato Gnocchi with Gouda Cheese and Chicken Alfredo

Woo, that title is a mouthful, but a very delicious mouthful. Today I have a couple different recipes for you. The first is a sweet potato gnochi and the second is a gouda cheese alfredo sauce.

When I was in high school we went to dinner for a friend’s birthday and she insisted we try gnocchi. I didn’t really know what it was and I couldn’t pronounce it, but I was hooked! I love the gooey texture of the potatoes. It has always seemed like one of those foods that was impossible to make at home, but I had a craving for it the other day and I thought it would be fun to try and do with sweet potatoes.

Sweet Potato Gnocchi

I headed to Pinterest to see what recipes I could find and was pleasantly surprised to see there were a lot of great recipes. I combined a few and in the end I came away with a few changes I will definitely make next time I make gnocchi, so here is my recipe.

Ingredients

3 Large Sweet Potatoes – This will make a lot of gnocchi, so if you wanting a smaller amount then maybe do 2 medium sized potatoes.

1 Cup shredded Gouda Cheese

1/2 Cup of Parmesan Cheese

1 T of Brown Sugar

1 tsp Salt

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

2 cups of Flour – this is an approximation, you may use a little less or a little more.

  1. Peel your sweet potatoes and boil them until they are soft and you can mash them.
  2. Add your Gouda Cheese, Parmesan Cheese, Brown Sugar, Salt, and Nutmeg to your potatoes.
  3. Mix together and mash your potatoes until smooth. You can do this anyway you like, I did this in  a dish and found that doing it in my KitchenAid would have worked much better. Sweet potato gnocchi and gouda alredo02 (FB)
  4. Add flour to your potatoes. The goal here is to make a dough, you don’t want it to be too starchy, but it needs to be a pretty good dough consistency. I did this in the KitchenAid with my dough hook and it was pretty smooth.
  5. Once you have your dough where you like it take it out of the bowl and roll it out on a floured surface. I divided my dough into 6 pieces and rolled each piece out into a rope and then cut inch long pieces. I rolled each piece into a small ball and place it in a bowl. Sweet potato gnocchi and gouda alredo03 (FB)Sweet potato gnocchi and gouda alredo04 (FB)
  6. Once all your gnocchi is cut place it in a pot of boiling water and boil for about 3-5 min. 3 if you want it on the softer side and 5 if you like your gnocchi a little more dense.

Gouda Alfredo Sauce

Ingredients 

1 T Butter

4 oz of Cream Cheese

1 Cup of Whipping Cream

1/2 Cup Milk

2 Cups of Gouda Cheese, shredded

1/2 tsp Basil

1/2 Pepper

Sweet potato gnocchi and gouda alredo07(FB)

  1.  Melt butter and cream cheese in a saucepan over medium heat. Add whipping cream and milk and stir until mixed. Whisk in basil and pepper and gouda cheese. Stir until cheese is melted and sauce is smooth.

You can serve the gnocchi with anything you would like. It is great alone with this  sauce, but I wanted to do it with pasta, so I mixed my pasta, gnocchi, and chicken together and then poured the alfredo sauce on top and cooked for 5-10 min. in the oven.

Sweet potato gnocchi and gouda alredo08 (FB)

Leave a Reply

