Frozen Hot Chocolate

Frozen Hot Chocolate 8 [Cover Pic 4]

If you follow me on Instagram you might have seen that I have been sick this week. Unfortunately I caught Strep throat from my two year old, who had Strep over the Thanksgiving break. My husband had the stomach flu also, so I’m thankful I didn’t catch that at well!

Thankfully I am getting back to normal and can eat most foods again. Earlier this week that definitely was not the case and I was looking for a chilly treat besides my fruit popsicles. I had the idea to make frozen hot chocolate, even though it’s freezing outside! I whipped up a large glass and settled into a hot bath and it was oh so wonderful that I had to share the recipe with all of you.

There are tons of recipes out there, so I took the basic recipe and then adjusted it based on what I had in my fridge and cupboards and let’s just say I might have to stock up on eggnog because I think frozen hot chocolate might be happening a lot in our house this winter.

What you’ll need:

Blender – This is not a sponsored post, but I am going to put a plug in for Nutri Bullet. I love this blender you guys, it is AMAZING! You can use it for so many things and it blends way better than my kitchenaid full size blender AND it is ten times easier to clean. Okay, plug done.

Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

Hot Chocolate Powder

Milk 

Eggnog – Mine was caramel flavored

Sugar

Cool Whip – I would use whip cream normally, but I am currently out.

Marshmallows 

Directions:

Start by pouring about 1/3 to 1/2 cup of eggnog into your blender, followed up about a cup of milk. To be honest I didn’t measure… Then I added three generous large spoonfuls of hot cocoa. I used regular milk chocolate powder, but you could use any flavor you wanted. Add a small spoonful of unsweetened cocoa powder. Add a spoonful of sugar, about twice as much sugar as cocoa powder. Finish it off with a large spoonful of whip cream.

Put the lid on the blender. You can stir everything together first or shake it after you put the lid on it and then blend. Blend for about a minute so everything is nice and mixed. Once everything is mixed add your ice. I probably added 8-10 ice cubes. Blend until the ice is to your liking. I like mine to be pretty fine and it takes a minute or less in the Nutri-Bullet.

Frozen Hot Chocolate 5

Once your all done pour it in a glass of your choice, top with whip cream or cool whip, marshmallows and enjoy!!

My little guy loved this twist on hot chocolate, once he got the cool whip and marshmallows out of his way! I love how easy this is to make and that it’s a treat the whole family can enjoy.

Whip up a glass and have a fabulous weekend!!

One thought on “Frozen Hot Chocolate

Leave a Reply

