2016

January is almost halfway over so I guess I should probably get myself organized around here. This year has already been crazy busy between work and church and home and getting ready for our little girl to get here! Between work and Dr.s appointments I have had something every day this week, which makes me feel a little crazy, but they are all good things and life is good so I’m doing my best not to complain 🙂 Which leads me to what I wanted to talk about, goals!

Last year we started the tradition of having a family theme for the year and then coming up with some family goals, they are usually more on the spiritual side of things. Last year our theme was “Trust in the Lord” and we definitely had plenty of experiences that brought us to our knees and really pushed to trust in God. This year we decided to go with something a little more uplifting? Our theme for the year is “Joy in the Journey” and our family scripture is 2nd Nephi 2:25. If you aren’t LDS and aren’t familiar with the Book of Mormon you can read the scripture and learn more about it here.

With a new baby on the way and my husband starting a double masters in March along with everything else in life we thought it would be a good goal to work on finding joy and focusing on the good in life rather than allowing ourselves to get bogged down in the craziness that I’m sure will ensue.

As for myself I didn’t do New Years Resolutions this year and instead decided to have some personal goals that I work on throughout the year and add goals in as I feel I want/need to. My biggest goal this year is to be a more present person. It is so easy in this day and age to be engaged with our phones and social media and not with those around us. I don’t want my kids to look back on their childhood and think “Mom was always on her phone!” I want to be engaged and present and I want to teach my children there is more to life than getting to perfect Instagram photo.

Another goal of mine is to journal more, whether that be here, my private blog, or in an actual journal I want to be better about writing down what happens and my feelings and capturing moments in the way journal writing can. Along with that I want to take more pictures on my camera and have hard copies of photos, rather than just snapping them on my phone.

I’m going to start with those and see how they survive a new baby this next month and let you know 😉 And just for fun, enjoy some photos of my little guy is who is almost 3 (EEEKKS!) He got trains and a camera for Christmas and let’s just say he is having a ball and I’m having a great time watching his imagination as he plays. I’m especially loving watching him take pictures and seeing what he captures and what intrigues his little mind.

 

Are you a New Years Resolution person? 

What are your goals for this year?

 

Leave a Reply

