Hello World

Introducing our newest addition…

amelia

Amelia Brooke Helms

Born Feb. 9th 2016

6lbs 14 oz, 20 in

I cannot tell you how in love with this little girl we  are. I realize she turned 2 months this week, so this is a little late. At her 6wk checkup she weighed 8 lbs 10 oz and was 22 in. I  can’t believe how fast she is growing. Thankfully she is still little enough that I feel like I’m still getting to enjoy the newborn stage. She smiles all the time and has discovered her tongue which keeps her and us entertained! Having two kids has been good and I just can’t stop thinking about how blessed I am. Last year I was heartbroken over losing our baby and while I think I always will be in some ways, this year I am overjoyed to have our sweet Amelia! Babies are such a joy and our home feels a little closer to heaven with her here!

A lot of people asked me about her name, so I thought I would share on here. When I was about 10 I had a book titled Our Only May Amelia. It was about a little girl growing up in the prairie. I loved it and the name has stuck with me ever since. Her middle name Brooke is after my sister who died. I’ve always wanted to name my first little girl after my sister. I can’t wait for the day when I can tell her what a beautiful person her aunt was.

Now for the sweet story behind her photo. My husband’s great grandma died last week and we went back to Colorado for her funeral. She was 98 years old and an amazing woman! I am so thankful I had the pleasure of knowing her these last 5 years. I have a great picture of Carter and Laren and his mom, grandpa, and great grandma for a 5 generation picture and I was going to do the same with Amelia, but she died before she could meet her. When we were at the funeral I kept looking at all of the beautiful flowers and thought it would be really neat to do a photo with Amelia and the flowers as a tribute to Grandma Dola. It turned out so much better than I could have planned!

We are so in love and so blessed!

 

Leave a Reply

