Be Brave Little Man

Confession time – I love making signs and trying new things, but sometimes I am a lot better at recreating an idea than I am coming up with something new and fresh. Also custom work is really intimidating to me, because it’s a piece that is going to live in someone else’s home and I want it to be just right!

While I find custom work really intimidating, I enjoy doing it because it is a good challenge. Back in Jan I received a custom order from a woman from church.  She wanted a sign for her baby boys nursery. I loved doing this sign because the saying she picked it one of my favorites and I loved how she was incorporating it into her nursery.

I’m not going to do a full tutorial, but I thought I would show you a little bit of my process via my iPhone when I make a wood sign.

1st I design my sign in Photoshop then I create it in Silouhette. Once I have it done in Silhouette I print it out to make sure the lettering is the right size and the spacing works. Excuse my messy table!

I use my Silhouette to cut out the design and use it as a stencil.

So I tried something a little different and attempted using a fine tip chalk pen to outline the letters. It did not work as well as I thought it would, so I scrapped that idea pretty fast. One of the things about these signs is there can be a lot of trial and error.

Case in point – I totally forgot about the cut outs in the “B” here. Oops! I used a razor blade and stain to remedy the situation.

On this particular sign I used Behr white interior paint. I did three or four coats so it wouldn’t turn yellow.


Once I was finished I went back over the sign with a razor blade and cleaned up my edges and any messy areas. Then I used a Q’tip to blend those areas. I also did some light sanding.

 

 I had so much fun putting this sign together and love how it turned out!

 

Leave a Reply

