Motherhood

Right as I was about to start this post my sweet 3 yr old opened our gate and let the dog out… so motherhood.. yea.. haha.

Motherhood is wonderful, it can be tedious and hard, but more than anything it is wonderful and I’m so grateful I have the opportunity to be a mom. The other day I was talking with my niece and I told her that the older she got, the more she would understand (in regards to how mom’s and grandma’s sometimes see things). I know it sounds cliché when people say that, but it really is true. Sometimes I wish I could go back and show my teenage self the effect my behavior could have on people, especially my mom. I hope my future teenagers are nicer than I was at times!

C.S. Lewis is one of my favorite authors and I love this quote from him –

(Image via Pinterest)

Oh, how true this is! My children are the most important thing to me and I love that I am able to stay home with them. I know that isn’t a possibility for all moms, and I know not all moms want to be stay at home moms, but for me being at home with my children is exactly where I want to be right now. My son is sitting on the floor playing by me as I type and I love hearing him talk and play out the scenes in his imagination. I am not a perfect mother, but I hope that I am the mother that my children need.  I love the quote attributed to Mother Teresa that says “What can you do to promote world peace? Go home and love your family.”  I hope if they only remember one thing about me, it is that I loved them unconditionally and that no matter what they’ve done in life my love was always there for them. I hope I can teach them to be kind and to love others unconditionally. I hope my mothering will help them to make the world a better place. I hope they know that I love being their mother and I would not trade it for anything in the world.


To my own mother I express my immense gratitude for her unconditional love. Words cannot describe how much I love my mother and how grateful I am to have her as a mother and as a friend. She is beautiful, kind, loving, fun and adventurous (and so much more!) and all that I hope to be and more.

To my mother-in-law I express my gratitude for raising my wonderful husband. Without her, my family would not have the blessing of having him as a husband and a father. I am so grateful I get to reap the blessings of her hardwork as a mother.


To my children, I express my love and gratitude for loving me! I went to BYU women’s conference last week and one of the speakers, speaking on communication with children, said that children can’t misbehave because they are still learning how to behave. It’s parents who misbehave… some days that is really true! I wish I always did what I knew I should do or reacted the way I know I should react as a parent, but I don’t. Thankfully my children are the best forgivers (I wish we could all forgive as children do) and they love me and will still cuddle with me even when I tell them no. I can’t think of anything better than big bear hugs and wet kisses followed by “I love you” from your child, there really isn’t anything. It makes me want to cry happy tears everytime because it is the sweetest, most amazing thing you’ll ever hear. Their love and sweetness is such a wonderful reminder to me of the blessing it is to be a mother!

Mothers (and fathers) are so important and their worth is unmeasurable! Being a mother has stretched me in ways I didn’t know were possible and I am sure it will continue to stretch me. However, even at the end of a hard day I can’t help but think how lucky I am to be the mother of my children. It has also blessed my life in ways I didn’t know were possible and it has brought the greatest joy imaginable.

So here’s a Happy Mother’s Day (weekend 🙂 )  to all of you!

 

Leave a Reply

