Mommy Style Monday // Water Day

Utah Lake 1

Hey everyone! I took an unintended hiatus from blogging this summer and while I’m feeling a little behind now, I had a fantastic summer! We took a three week vacation to Oregon, a one week vacation to Colorado and then had some family at our house interspersed throughout. It was wonderful and I would be lying if I said I wasn’t sad for it to come to an end!

At the same time, it feels good to be back at home and looking towards fall and getting back into a routine!

All that to say, I am home and back at blogging starting with today’s fun Mommy Style Monday. I joined Kiana and Madeline in June before I headed out on vacation and I’m excited to be back with them showing how we do water days around our house!

Utah Lake 5

Utah Lake 9

If you follow me on Instagram you know I am a big water person! We spend a lot of time in the water, whether we are at the pool, the lake, or in the backyard. I grew up teaching swimming lessons and life guarding and when I wasn’t at the pool we were usually at our family Lakehouse. As an adult water still brings me a lot of joy and I love that my kids also love the water!

When you spend a lot of time in the water something I think is really important is a good swimming suit! I love this suit that I picked up from the Gap Outlet back in June. It was on clearance for $11!! It was such a good deal and it’s comfortable and cute which is a win in my book!

Utah Lake 8

Some of my other have to have items when we are headed to out spend the day in the water are

Utah Lake 2

Sunscreen – I have been loving Hang Ten kids sunscreen this summer. It is a mineral based sunscreen and is free of parabans and sulfates. We used it all summer and stayed sunburn free.

Towels – I am one of those people that collects beach towels when I see a good deal of them. I usually get them from Target and Costco.

Flotation device – Water safety is a huge thing in my book, so we always have either a life jacket or a puddle jumper with us. I grabbed this puddle jumper at Costco last summer.

Food/drink – I usually pack some drinks and snack food whenever we go out. I like applesauce packets, goldfish, and something sweet for the kids. For myself I love having some fruit and a protein bar. I also love Coke Zero these days, so you can often find one in my bag.

Good beach bag – I love reusable grocery bags like this Trader Joe’s bag. They are room and easy to clean out. They also don’t hurt my shoulders when I carry them which is important when I’m lugging around a bunch of stuff and my kids. I also love using the big blue Ikea bags!

Coverup – For this I opted for a pair of jean shorts and a comfy tee. I like to have something to throw on if it gets a little chilly. I also love coverup dresses. Lately I’ve been loving this one from Lime Ricki.

I also usually have goggles, sunglasses, a change of clothes for the kids, a hat, and whatever else we were in the mood for.

My Suit – Gap /  Jean Shorts – Walmart / Star Top – Ann Taylor / Amelia’s Suit – Gap / Carter’s BYU top – Walmart / Carter’s Board shorts – Costco

Summer might be coming to an end, but lucky for us we are only 15 min from an awesome indoor pool, so I have the feeling we will be there quite a bit this fall/winter.

Utah Lake 6

What are some of your must have’s for a water day? What are your favorite swimsuits this year?

Be sure and check out all the other fun blogger’s water day style and if you want to sign up for next Mommy Style Monday stop by Kiana or Madeline’s!

Kiana at Glitter & Donuts

Madeline at CaseyLand

Erica at Good Job Momma

Bekah at These Are The Days

Jen at Jam Tart Boutique

Beverly at What a Day 

Kristen at Eat Play and Go

Monica at It’s All About

6 thoughts on “Mommy Style Monday // Water Day

  1. Love a good clearance find! and seriously its an adorable suit! I am a little jealous about the scenery going on in these photos!! Looks like an amazing time and you look beautiful!

    Like

Leave a Reply

