Banana Oatmeal Cookies

banana-oatmeal-cookies-2

Hey guys, it’s been a little bit, but I wanted to hop on and share this baby cookie recipe with you. We did baby led weaning with Amelia and let’s just say she loves food! I wanted a good cookie recipe so she could have a yummy snack to chew on and I found this oatmeal cookie recipe. I had a bunch of banana’s that needed use and I wanted the cookies to have a little more substance to them so I tweaked the recipe a little bit. I wasn’t sure how good they would turn out, but not only does Amelia love them, I love them too! They are really yummy and Amelia goes town on them, so I decided I better share for all the momma’s out there!

banana-oatmeal-cookies-8

Ingredients

3/4 cup Sugar

1/4 cup Firmly Packed Brown Sugar

1/2 cup (1 stick) of margarine or butter; softened

1/2 teaspoon of vanilla

1 egg

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

3 3/4 cups baby cereal ( I use the multigrain cereal for Amelia, but you can use rice or oatmeal) I love using the baby cereal because the cookies aren’t as chunky and I feel like it’s easier for babies to chew and digest them.

2 ripe bananas

Directions

1. Heat oven to 350F & line cookie sheet with parchment paper ( You could grease it, but I prefer parchment paper – less clean up!)

2. In a large bowl beat margarine until smooth. Add sugar and brown sugar and beat until light and fluffy.

3. Add vanilla and the egg; blend well.

4. Add bananas and blend really well. I use a Kitchenaid and I usually turn my mixer up a little bit for this part.

5. In a separate bowl combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt. Once mixed add to your wet ingredients.

6. Add in baby cereal

7. Using an ice cream scooper drop dough onto parchment paper. After you have all your dough laid out I like to flatten it with my hands (washed and cleaned of course). FYI the dough is going to be a little gooier than normal cookie dough, so don’t be alarmed.

7. Bake at 350F for 10-12 minutes (Let’s be honest I usually just eyeball them and pull them out when they look done.) or until edges are light golden brown. Let cook for 1 minute and remove from cookie sheet.

banana-oatmeal-cookies-4

Also if your like me and happen to forget the eggs, don’t worry they will still taste delicious!

These are so good and I have the feeling your baby will love them! Your toddler probably will too and if you don’t have baby cereal on hand you could easily put in some regular oats and they would taste just as good. To store them I put them in sandwich bags and freeze them. Since they have bananas in them they can go bad faster just sitting out. When I want to give one to Amelia I just put it in the microwave for 10-15 seconds and it’s good to go!

banana-oatmeal-cookies-5

And the best part is they are baby approved!

 

What are some of your favorite baby approved recipes?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

